Rhode Island Eviction Notice Forms

Rhode Island Eviction Notice Forms

Rhode Island Eviction Notice Forms are official documents sent by a landlord to a tenant that has violated the terms of a rental agreement and might be subject to an eviction action. They alert the tenant to their actions and asks them to rectify the matter or move out of the property. Once sent, the tenant will have a specified notice period to respond appropriately or face an eviction lawsuit.

How to Evict a Tenant in Rhode Island

Step 1: Send a Notice

According to Rhode Island statutes, a landlord seeking to evict a tenant from their property must first send the tenant proper notice. The available notices are:

  • A 24-Hour Notice to Quit for Illegal Activity
  • A 5-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Payment
  • A 20-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance
  • A 30-Day Notice to Quit or lease termination

The landlord must then wait for the tenant to respond (either by fixing the violation or moving out) within the prescribed timeline.

Step 2: File a Complaint

If the tenant fails to respond by the deadline, the landlord may file a Complaint for Eviction for Non-Payment or Complaint for Eviction for Other than Non-Payment with the local district court, depending on the type of violation.

Step 3: Serve the Tenant

Once the landlord has filed these documents, the tenant will be served with copies to notify them of the lawsuit. They then have the right to file an Answer Form with the court in response.

Step 4: Attend the Hearing

Both parties will be required to attend the hearing and argue their side of the case. The landlord, for example, must prove that the violation occurred and present evidence that they served the tenant proper notice. The tenant must then prove that they did not breach the lease agreement.

Step 5: Obtain a Judgment

After hearing both sides (or if the tenant does not attend the hearing) the judge will issue a judgment. If it is in the landlord’s favor, the landlord will receive a Judgment of Possession that gives the tenant 5 days to appeal or move out. The landlord may then obtain an execution for eviction, which permits the constable to remove the tenant from the property if they haven’t appealed or moved out within 5 days

Rhode Island Eviction Laws & Requirements

The following laws and requirements apply to the Rhode Island eviction process:

If the tenant fails to respond to proper notice after the required notice period, the landlord may file an eviction lawsuit or Forcible Entry and Detainer under Chapter 34-19.

When Is Rent Due in Rhode Island?

Rent is considered due in Rhode Island on the date indicated in the rental agreement. Nonetheless, a landlord may only send a pay or quit notice when the rent has not been paid 15 days after this date.

Related Rhode Island Court Forms

How to Write a Rhode Island Notice to Quit?

Step 1: Copy the tenant’s full name, the property address, and the lease signature date from the original rental agreement onto the eviction notice.

Step 2: Write down a subject line that explains your reason for writing and supply an appropriate salutation.

Step 3: In the first paragraph, mention the tenant’s breach, referring to the clause in the lease agreement that the tenant has violated.

Step 4: In the second paragraph, go into detail about the breach in one of the following ways:

  • Unpaid rent – Indicate the due amount, rental period, and agent’s name (person who may receive payment). Give the tenant 5 days to pay or move out.
  • Non-compliance – Define the violation and give the tenant 20 days to fix the problem or move out.
  • Illegal activity – If the tenant has been found guilty of criminal activity, define the activity and give them 24 hours to vacate the premises.

Step 5: In the third paragraph, disclose that you plan to take legal action against the tenant if they don’t comply with your instructions by the set date.

Step 6: Close with your name and signature.

Step 7: Upon delivery, the deliverer should indicate the delivery method as either first-party, second-party, or via USPS First Class Mail. They must also report the delivery date and address.

24-Hour Notice to Quit (Illegal Activity)

The Rhode Island 24-Hour Notice to Quit for Illegal Activity is a document sent to a tenant who has committed a crime on the premises or is dealing in illegal usage of controlled substances or drugs. It gives them immediate notice to vacate the premises. Under state law, the landlord is not required to send this notice and can head to court immediately without sending the notice.

{Date}

{Recipient Name}

{Property Address}

Dear {Mr./Mrs./Ms. Last Name},

This notice has been sent to you to address the violation described as {define illegal activity}, which is incurable. Under Rhode Island law, you are required to vacate the premises located at {property address} immediately and deliver possession of said premises to {landlord’s name} by {date}. If you fail to comply, the landlord will institute an eviction against you.

Sincerely,

{Your Name}

{Your Signature}

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, {deliverer’s name}, hereby confirm that I delivered a copy of this notice to {recipient’s name} on {delivery date} at {property address} via {delivery method}.

5-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Payment)

The Rhode Island 5-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Payment, or form DC-55, is a document sent to notify a tenant that the rent is 15 days past the due date and they must pay within 5 days of receiving the notice or vacate the premises.

{Date}

{Recipient Name}

{Property Address}

Dear {Mr./Mrs./Ms. Last Name},

Your rent of {amount} for the property on {address} is now more than 15 days late. This is to notify you that you are required to pay the amount within 5 days of this notice or face an eviction lawsuit, which will be filed by the landlord to regain possession of the premises and pursue damages.

You can prevent the termination of your rental agreement, signed {signature date}, by paying the due amount to {agent’s name} by {date}.

Sincerely,

{Your Name}

{Your Signature}

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, {deliverer’s name}, hereby confirm that I delivered a copy of this notice to {recipient’s name} on {delivery date} at {property address} via {delivery method}.

20-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Compliance)

The Rhode Island 20-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance notifies a tenant that they have violated the lease agreement and must perform certain acts, payments, or repairs to remedy the problem or move out of the property. The violation must not involve rent payment.

{Date}

{Recipient Name}

{Property Address}

Dear {Mr./Mrs./Ms. Last Name},

You are receiving this notice due to the violation described as {define breach} of the rental agreement signed {signature date}.

INCURABLE

Said violation is incurable and you have 20 days from the service of this notice to move out and deliver possession of the property located at {property address} to the landlord.

CURABLE

Said violation is curable and you have 20 days from the service of this notice to fix it by {describe solution} or move out of the property located at {property address} to the landlord.

If you fail to comply by {date}, the landlord will file an eviction lawsuit against you without further notice.

Sincerely,

{Your Name}

{Your Signature}

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, {deliverer’s name}, hereby confirm that I delivered a copy of this notice to {recipient’s name} on {delivery date} at {property address} via {delivery method}.

30-Day Notice to Quit (Month to Month Tenancy)

The Rhode Island 30-Day Notice to Quit, also called Form DC-63 or Lease Termination Notice, is a document sent by a landlord or tenant to legally terminate a tenancy at will within 30 days.

{Date}

{Recipient Name}

{Property Address}

Dear {Mr./Mrs./Ms. Last Name},

This is to notify you that I, {your name}, elect to terminate the rental agreement dated {signature date}, in which I am named as the {landlord/tenant}. This termination will take effect on {date with 30-day notice} and will not affect rent payment obligations until said date.

Upon the delivery of possession of the premises to {landlord’s name}, a security deposit in the amount of {amount} will be mailed to {tenant’s name} at {mailing address}. Both parties agree to meet on the premises on {date} for the final inspection.

Sincerely,

{Your Name}

{Your Signature}

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, {deliverer’s name}, hereby confirm that I delivered a copy of this notice to {recipient’s name} on {delivery date} at {property address} via {delivery method}.

24-Hour Notice to Quit (Illegal Activity) – Word Template

24-Hour Notice to Quit (Illegal Activity)

5-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Payment) – Word Template

5-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Payment)

20-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Compliance) – Word Template

20-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Compliance)

Rhode Island 30-Day Notice to Quit (Month to Month Tenancy) – Word Template

30-Day Notice to Quit (Month to Month Tenancy)

Key Takeaways

Preparing Rhode Island Eviction Notice Forms is an easy feat if you have the original lease agreement. From the lease, you can report most of the information needed in the notice, including tenant details, property address, lease dates, and the nature of the violation. You can then refer to the Rhode Island laws and requirements described here to prescribe the requisite grace period.