Idaho Eviction Notice Forms (Notice to Quit)

Idaho Eviction Notice Forms are formal documents used in the state by landlords who wish to notify a tenant of a breach of an active rental agreement. Depending on the violation, the landlord may allow the tenant time to rectify the problem or vacate the premises. There are three types of eviction notice forms in Idaho, all of which are discussed in this article. If a tenant ignores one of these from, the landlord may file an eviction case against them in court.

How to Evict a Tenant in Idaho

Step 1: Provide the Tenant with Proper Notice

The landlord must send the tenant a proper notice describing the tenant’s violation of the lease and the landlord’s intention to initiate eviction proceedings. The notices that may apply include:

  • A 3-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Payment of Rent
  • A 3-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance
  • A 30-Day Notice for a Month to Month Tenancy Termination

Step 2: Initiate Eviction


If the tenant fails to respond appropriately to the landlord’s notice, the landlord may file a summons and complaint with the district court to initiate eviction proceedings, or unlawful detainer. The filing process may require a fee of $166 and an Affidavit of Service proving that the landlord sent the tenant a notice. The summons and complaint should then be served on the tenant through a process server.

Note: The summons and complaint filed during this stage only constitute an eviction claim and do not include damages for unpaid rent. If you wish to obtain the latter, you must file a separate case in a district court or small claims court.


Step 3: Attend the Hearing

After the service of the complaint and summons, the tenant has 5 days to respond. If they don’t the landlord may present an Affidavit of Service to the court to prove that they served the tenant. They should then fill out a Judgment of Eviction, which the judge will sign, legalizing the eviction.


Step 4: Evict the Tenant

The Judgment of Eviction gives the tenant a specified number of days to vacate the property. If they don’t, the landlord may file for a Writ of Restitution from the court. This document authorizes the sheriff to remove the tenant from the property.

When Is Rent Due in Idaho?

Rent is due in Idaho on the date indicated in the rental agreement signed by the tenant and landlord. If a tenant fails to pay by this date, the landlord must send them a notice giving them 3 days to pay or quit.

Idaho Eviction Laws and Requirements

Idaho statutes to not provide a grace period for late rent payments. Nonetheless, the landlord must give a defaulting tenant 3 days of notice before filing a lawsuit under § 6-303(2). If the tenant fails to pay – or comply – within the notice period, § 6-301 through § 6-324, allows the landlord to file Forcible Entry and Unlawful Detainer. Other requirements include:

  • § 6-303(3), a 3-day notice period for non-compliance.
  • § 55-208, a 30-day notice period for a lease termination.

Related Idaho Court Forms

How to Write an Idaho Notice to Quit

Step 1: Locate the original rental agreement as you will refer to it constantly while drafting your notice.

Step 2: From the lease, document the tenant’s full name, rental property address by county, city, sip code, and street number, and the lease signature date.

Step 3: Supply a subject line that covers your reason for writing. Use an appropriate salutation, and in the first paragraph, inform the tenant of the beach.

Step 4: Go into detail about the breach and provide a course of action as follows:

  • For rent payment – Define the rent (amount, penalties, and rental period), provide a payment option, and give the tenant 3 days to pay or move out.
  • For noncompliance – Define and cite the breach from the lease agreement. If the matter is curable, give the tenant 3 days to fix it or move out.
  • For a lease termination – Mention an effective termination date that is at least 30 days after the next payment date.


Step 5: Warn the tenant that you will file an Unlawful Detainer lawsuit in court if they don’t comply with the terms of the notice by the deadline.

Step 6: (By deliverer) Certify that the notice was delivered to a recipient by indicating their name, the delivery method, address, and date. Sign under this information.

Idaho 3-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Payment of Rent)

The Idaho 3-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Payment of Rent is sent to a tenant that has defaulted their rent to demand that they pay or move out of the property within three days. If a property is agricultural and aa landlord fails to send this notice for 60 days after rent is due, the tenant has the right to remain on the property under the same rental agreement for a full year.

{Date}

{Recipient’s Name}

{Property Address}

Dear {Mr./Mrs./Ms. Last Name},

Your rent of {amount} for the property known as {property address} in now in default. In accordance with Statute 6-303, you are notified to pay the due amount or move out of the premises within three days after receiving this notice. If you fail to pay or vacate, the landlord will file an eviction lawsuit against you and you may be liable for all damages available by law, including attorney fees.

Sincerely,

{Your Name}

{Your Signature}

Idaho 3-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Compliance)

The Idaho 3-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance is served to a tenant that has breached the terms of the lease through an action that doesn’t involve rent payment. It gives the tenant 3 days to cure the violation (for less serious breaches) or move out of the property. If the tenant sublets or damages the property, however, they do not get a chance to fix the problem and must leave.

{Date}

{Recipient’s Name}

{Property Address}

Dear {Mr./Mrs./Ms. Last Name},

You have violated the terms of the rental agreement for the property on {property address}, signed {signature date} by {describe violation}. You must cure this breach or vacate the premises within 3 days following the service of this notice. If you fail to comply or move out, you will be sued for eviction and forced to leave the premises.

Sincerely,

{Your Name}

{Your Signature}

Idaho 30-Day Notice to Quit (Month to Month Tenancy)

The Idaho 30-Day Notice to Quit can be used by a landlord or tenant to terminate a month-to-month rental agreement. It must give the recipient at least a 30-day notice to help them avoid situations such as not finding a new home or tenant.

{Date}

{Recipient’s Name}

{Property Address}

Dear {Mr./Mrs./Ms. Last Name},

In accordance with §55-208, I {your name}, named as the {landlord/tenant} in the lease agreement dated {signature date}, elect to terminate this lease, effective {give a 30-day notice}.

On the final day, {date}, both parties will avail themselves for the walk-though inspection. The deposit for the property will be mailed to {address}.

Sincerely,

{Your Name}

{Your Signature}

Idaho 3-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Payment of Rent) – Word Template

Idaho 3-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Payment of Rent

Idaho 3-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Compliance) – Word Template

Idaho 3-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Compliance)

Idaho 30-Day Notice to Quit (Month to Month Tenancy) – Word Template

Idaho 30-Day Notice to Quit (Month to Month Tenancy)

Key Points

Effective Idaho Eviction Notice Forms inform a tenant that they have violated the rental agreement and must either fix their violation or move out. They must be delivered by hand to the tenant or an adult resident of the premises, posted in a conspicuous place on the property, or mailed. It the tenant doesn’t respond to a notice within the specified period, the landlord can file an Unlawful Detainer action with the district court.

Related Posts